Non-Romance Writers That Are Girls

A lot of people assume that I write romance novels. Or, they are shocked when I tell them that, so far, my stories do not contain any romance at all.

I have been asking myself if I am one of the few female novellists out there that prefers to write about adventures rather than love stories. I have nothing against a romance plot (So long as it is not the main focus of the book), but I find it disconcerting that so many books seem to portray that finding the right mate is the most important thing in life, especially to the under 18 crowd.

Shouldn’t more young adult novels focus on the character’s personal development or some cool journey that they must face? Sure, if they meet someone along the way, I suppose that is okay… but why must so many people always make it the main goal of the protagonist?

I want to to give teens, especially girls, something to read that doesn’t focus on all  of that mushy stuff. I think with all of these romance books and movies, young girls can feel pressured to find that perfect guy, or that they are missing out on something because they don’t have a boyfriend. The opposite is true. I think what they need to see more of are books that contain strong, ambitious female characters that do not always fall in love by the end of the book, where she might even choose to NOT chase romance for a little while in order to get to know herself, see the world, go on an adventure or two.

I mean, let’s face it. Bella (Twilight series) clearly would have been better off doing her own thing.

Again, I am not dissing romance as a concept. Just saying.

On rare occasions my books will hint at chemistry developing between two characters, but so far I am not willing to give in and make it  more than a backstory.

I would rather write:

9 responses to “Non-Romance Writers That Are Girls

  1. So true! And that is what I loved about your book. The romance in each life, if there was any, was always hinted without it being the main focus. It was the perfect balance! :)

  2. Oh, thank you so much for that. That means so much to me since I find that it is so hard to write romance. So many things seem cliche. I love a slow, romantic undertone. It’s what made Jane Austin so great. Well, one the things. She was so gifted. I really can’t wait to read your book!

  3. My book is planned to be launching in early March. :)

    I agree with you about Jane Austen’s greatness (I wonder if there is a Jane Austin out there who writes). They say that she was the one that founded modern prose. Pretty awesome!

  4. Sara

    That’s a great post and I look forward to seeing more work along the lines you posted about. I’m pretty far from a fan of the romance slanted supernatural YA out there (just as an example) but have been looking at some from indie authors I’ve networked with and now that my 12 yr old girl is getting into e-reading she’s always asking me what to download.

    I honestly swear on my life that I DO NOT think I can read another blurb that goes:

    Paige must solve the mystery of her hidden past while learning how to use her supernatural abilities before the (fill in the blank with evil creature) sworn to destroy her special kind find her.

    But FIRST she must WIN Drake’s true love! Only together can they survive!

    Just at a glance (with no statistical analysis of any kind being done) it seems that about 90% of the indie female writers out there are doing this stuff. write what you like…write what sells…fine, cool, no stone throwing. My blurbs probably look just as contrived to others.

    That said I think it’s great to see someone writing against the popular conventions. Best of luck

    Dave

Leave a Reply

