Time to Self Publish

I was evaluating everything that I have written thus far. I have completed three novels (Well, my third one is pretty rough still, but complete nonetheless). And I have five other works in progress – some just barely started, others nearly halfway finished. Considering I only started seriously writing in April 2009, I am pretty happy about this. 🙂

My Completed Books:

By the Sword – YA Fantasy/Adventure

Possessed – Thriller/Horror

Ice – Fantasy

Now, what to do with them?

I admit, when I first completed By the Sword in the summer of 2009, I was sure that it would be whisked away by a publisher and in bookstores the following year. Then, I learned how much work and perseverance it takes to land an agent that will represent a manuscript to a publisher. I read up as much as I could about publishing, agents, query letter, and the works. I probably sent off at least one query letter everyday for the next year or so.

Then, I realised how much work By the Sword still needed, along with Possessed. I understood that they weren`t even ready to be seen yet.

As I edited some more, I started reading more and more about authors having great success with self publishing. After some careful thought, I have decided to self publish my three completed books. I am going to hire a great editor and then put them out there for the world to see when they are polished to (near) perfection.

Now, onto the editor search. If you have any suggestions, feel free to let me know!

4 thoughts on “Time to Self Publish

  1. Wow three completed novels! It is such a plus for a self-published author if you’re able to get a book out every few months. As far as editors go, I’ve heard that it’s best to get recommendations and then request a sample edit from several. It’s important that you pick the one that best compliments your writing. It is so much fun to get your ms back from the editor–it feels so real. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

