Self Publishing – The Editor Search

So the ball is officially rolling on my self publishing venture. Weeee!

Last week, my head was spinning with all of the work that needs to be done. This week, I have started to accomplish some things and it really doesn`t seem all that daunting anymore.

So, I started contacting editors this week! πŸ™‚ Even better, I have received two sample edits already. So exciting. Well, haha, it shows me how important it is for a pair of fresh, professional eyes to see my work. It is amazing how a writer can edit her work 15 times and still miss so much. It is mind boggling. But all a part of the process.

The sample edits showed me how much work there still is to do. And I am okay with that.

One editor stood out from the crowd by taking a special interest in my book and in how I chose my pen name. She also does ebook formatting services, which is just fabulous. She took the time to go over some parts in my first chapter that really needed work and she did all of that at no cost. She has personality and passion. We just click. I think I have a winner!

The next step…find a cover designer! I have already been shopping around for some artists, and this part is so much fun. πŸ™‚ I am also surprised at how affordable cover art can be.

A helfpul place to find some good editors and cover designers is Kindleboards.com.

I am just so stoked about all of this!

7 thoughts on “Self Publishing – The Editor Search

  1. I’m so glad you found such an excellent editor. It is so important. Making your cover is definitely one of the most exciting things. I can’t wait to see what you come up with πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you both!

    And Lauren, thank you so much for your help in answering all the questions that I had. You have majorly simplified the self publishing process for me! πŸ™‚

  3. Sara

    Two questions: what genre are you writing and whose the editor in question? Having a hard time nailing down one who doesn’t coast a fortune or is just a contact on a webpage.

    I’m right about where you are in terms of going live…best of luck.

  4. Hi Dave! My first book is in the fantasy genre. The young adult Christian genre to be exact.

    My editor is Shelley Holloway and she is very professional while taking care to make my book the best it can be. I chose to go with the hard edit, so that is not exactly cheap but it is reasonable.

    I wish you all the best in your publishing journey.

  5. Sara

    That sounds great but I’m intrigued, and forgive me if you’ve gotten this a hundred times, how fantasy and Christian will go together.

    Will it be supernatural in nature? Just curious.

    I’ll add Mrs, Holloway to my list to check out, thanks for the tip and good luck

  6. Hi Dave,

    Yes, Christian fantasy is more of a rarity. πŸ™‚ Always feel free to ask questions!

    I do have some supernatural elements in the book, yes. Magic is portrayed in my stories as an evil force, while God`s power is the good force. You could say it is the opposite of Harry Potter. Some writers of the Christian fantasy genre will even use magic and protray it as good, but I do my best to write based on the principles set by the Bible.

    I hope your editor search goes well. FYI – Ms. Holloway also does Ebook formatting.

Leave a Reply

