Sleepy, but still thinking

It has been a few weeks now since I last posted here and I feel bad. I’ve been busy with work, gym, friends, and editing my first novel. So, what to write about when I still can’t fall back to sleep at 5:30 am? Hmmm…I guess I can start with the fact that I can’t believe it’s December already. So much has happened this year. It truly feels like I’ve lived three different lives over the past 12 months. Crazy.

Lots of exciting things are coming up in the new year. I can’t wait for it to get here, really. But, of course, the Christmas festivities are going to be great too.

So, I’ve been up since about 4:00 A.M. (I SO needed to sleep well tonight. Oh well.) and in my tired, yet ever-thinking state, I have been thinking a lot about what to name my publishing company. As a soon to be indie author, I think it is an important decision. In my humble opinion, simply using CreateSpace as the publisher name on your book just doesn’t have the same professionalism as a uniquely named publishing company. And then you can’t sell your books anywhere else if you do that. I, you know, kind of want control over the stories I have slaved over. 🙂

Besides, I plan to write so many more books. I already have 3.5 novels done as it is. So, the wheels in my head have been turing at this early hour of the day. Probably not a very prodctive time, but it’s  better than tossing and turning, right? I have come up with some interesting names already. I was thinking of posting some ideas, but then figured I might regret it later when I am more awake. I absolutely love the publishing company name my fellow writing friend, Lauren Waters, chose. It suited the genre of her books well and the name just has a creative ring to it.

I am going to try to get at least 2 more hours of sleep so I am more than just somewhat coherent for my day job. *Laughs* Wait, that wasn’t even funny, was it? Oh well.

Self publishers, did you decide to publish your books with your own publishing company name, or did you prefer to use CreateSpace, etc instead? And why? I am always curious about these things.

9 thoughts on “Sleepy, but still thinking

  1. Sara

    Since this is createspace, the POD publisher, I’m not sure how much a difference it would make. I’m not too familiar with createspace as I’ve yet to do it but I understand the book is sold through them, not other vendors…that being the case the reader knows where it’s coming from.

    Am still relatively new to this indie pub scene but a lot of it is giving me flashbacks to the late 90’s when I was in film school and everyone and their dog wanted to be an indie filmmaker. I worked on shorts, indies, commercials, anything, for years and wrote several scripts and budgeted them out to shoot. After graduating I worked with and met hundreds of others like me.

    Everyone owned a “production company”, a flashy business card and website that recommended you hire them for everything from website design, to editing to producing.,,u name it.

    But in the end everyone was really just another guy freelancing out of his apartment. That’s fine, everyone starts somewhere, but the the guy shooting digital 8 video out of his 89 Honda Civic tells you how capable and all powerful his “production company” is it came across as a bit cheesy I always thought. That field was chock full of people always trying to sell themselves as something they weren’t.

    In this case i think having a name and logo other than CS can help but what I guess I’m trying to say is don’t obsess over it.

    I think the onlyl things we should really be obsessing over are making the work as good as possible (and everything that goes into that which is a lot) and building yourself as a brand to your readership. Ideally books #2,3, and 4 come out to expectant readers instead of being automatically sequestered down in the 458k ranking.

    Just my .02 cents. Good luck.

  2. Hey Dave!

    I know what you mean about the cheesy-ness of someone pretending to be the owner of a big company and they are not. I wouldn’t go around telling people about my “publishing company” and flashing silly business cards.

    I wanted it for the purpose of having my printed book look more professional. I am still debating on what to do. What I was really stoked about was thinking of an interesting name. 🙂

    You’re right that what a writer should think mostly on is writing. Self publishing can take up some time, but it is well worth the effort if you want people to read your work and you aren’t up to waiting months/years for an agent to reply. Thankfully, with the new generation of indie publishing, this process is much easier than it used to be.

  3. And there’s probably a thousand times more info on the subject out there than a year or two ago. Just making the rounds on the better blogs and news sites, staying on top of things, is a part time in itself.

    Throw in a real full time job, a wife, three kiods…etc…it gets difficult. That’s where I am now

  4. Aww I hear you. I sometimes complain about how much time I spend away from writing with a full time job and balancing social time with my friends, but it must be extra difficult with a family and a house.

    Yes, the research that it takes to self publish can take up a lot of time, but I have every confidence that you can do it!

    Have you read David Gaughran’s blog? It is an amazing resource for all things self publishing. He will also answer personal emails. He is very helpful.

  5. Yeah, I’m on Daves blog daily, follow him very closely as anyone starting out should. E-mailed with him once, asked him for a beta read but he’s a real busy guy. His articles on the business side are as good as anyone’s. His guide is definittely required reading.

  6. I did go with a small press of my own for my pen name work, with the intention of looking into expanding it to take on other writers much later. Turns out “much later” is (this) December or January. Six other writers lined up already. It can speed up really quickly when the momentum starts to build.

Leave a Reply

