The Cost of Self Publishing

I thought it might be helpful to post the expenses (so far) for self publishing my book since I have noticed a few other blog posts recently on the topic of publishing costs. It really is pretty affordable. There are probably even cheaper ways to do it, but this is what I did and I am very happy so far.

This has also brought to my attention what I still must do. Haha.

Let me know your thoughts, or if you have any questions!

Editor (Including two edits and final proofread). = $1200

Ebook Formatting (For Createspace/Barnes and Noble) = $150

Book Cover Design (Ebook and Print) = $80

Book Mark Designs (Included in book design package) = Free

Register Business Name For My “Publishing Company” = $60

ISBN #s = FREE in Canada? I just found this out. Nice. Thanks, federal government. They happen to be the ISBN agency.

Print Book Formatter = $100

= $1590

I haven’t factored in advertising, the first print run, or website costs yet. I also think that I may have to purchase bar codes for the print books?

But as far actually getting the book to Createspace and Barnes and Noble, this is all it has taken me so far. I will do a more comprehensive list later on including the latter expenses.

16 thoughts on “The Cost of Self Publishing

  1. Thanks for posting this! I haven’t even finished a rough draft for my first novel yet, but I’ve been really interested in learning more about self publishing. I think when I’m done writing and editing, I still want to send it off to agents and see how far I can get in the “traditional” route, but I actually really want to try out self publishing as well. Perhaps when I actually have something completed I’ll be back to ask you questions about the process! 🙂

    1. Aly, you’re not alone. A lot of writers want to at least try traditional publishing first, which I think is still a smart route to go. It’s important to learn as much about the publishing business as possible, no matter which path you choose, because at the end of the day, once your name is going on the cover of a book, you ARE part of the business and it’s good to understand how everything works. Good luck!

    2. Hi Aly,

      Yes there are still some advantages of going the traditional route. I gave it a try for about two years, but an agent was honest with me and said that the young adult Christian fantasy market is a tough one to break into. Plus, I dont write romance which is another toughie.

      There are a number of factors that can affect your decision with which publishing method to pursue. You might even go traditional with some books and self publish with others. I personally like the control of indie publishing at the end of the day. It kind of helped me grow up, too. As funny as that sounds. 🙂

      I found that I learned a lot about the publishing industry and the market while I was researching and querying agents. The whole process was really interesting.

      I wish you all the best with your writing! 🙂

      1. Brian- Thank you for the encouragement! I had been toying with the idea of compiling an anthology of short stories, and self-publishing that, while looking into traditional publishing for my novel. But I plans change, things happen, so right now I’m just trying to learn about both routes and stay flexible. Thanks again!

        Sara- Thank you! And I think I’d really enjoy the control I’d have over self-publishing as well. Even if I don’t try first with this particular novel, I would love to go through the process and self-publish at least something of mine. I get excited just thinking about it even though I don’t even have a complete MS yet!

        Thanks again for your kind words, and good luck with your book!

      2. Hey Aly! A lot of authors are self-publishing short stories and collections since the market for them is so small anyway. It’s definitely a great way to test the waters of self-publishing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

