Updated List of Publishing Expenses (And A New Cover)

Roughly two months ago, I mentioned that I would tell of any further publishing expenses for advertising, print runs, etc. I did a post called The Cost of Self Publishing where I broke down all of my expenses which added up to $1590. Not bad, but I learned that I could have done it for a lot less than that. It was a great learning experience.

The proof of my first print book from Amazon was only $3.80.

Advertising was $25.00 via Full Moon Book Tours. Plus, you can ask book reviewers to do a review of your book on their blog for free! They do that as their hobby so most are more than happy to do it for you.

So, the overall cost to self publish was just over $1600.00. My goal for my next book is to keep it under $1,000.

If you would like to share your experiences with self publishing and how you kept costs down, that would be awesome!

Also, after some honest feedback on my book cover via the blog tour, I decided to change the print cover to something more simple (But still punchy). I kept the original design for the Ebook though, since I wasn’t ready to let it go yet. 🙂

You can check out the new design here.

Happy Wednesday!

9 thoughts on “Updated List of Publishing Expenses (And A New Cover)

  1. Sara
    Great post. It’s really helpful to us newbies to have some idea what we should budget for. I’m wondering if your total includes editing. I’ve been hearing that might run me $900.
    Best
    Jo-Ann

    1. My last editor cost me $1200 and, as much as I loved her, I am looking for a service that would charge roughly half of that.

      The Kindle Boards are very helpful in recommending a good editor that will work with writers on a budget.

  2. So excited for you, Sara, and I don’t even know you. I’m going to Amazon to buy your book today. Consider it done!

Leave a Reply

