Character Spotlight – Baby Doll

Baby Doll

Characters fuel our stories. Some are the selfless hero types, while others can be very selfish or disagreeable, but a good story will ensure that each one is complex and real.

One character that really stands out to me is Baby Doll from the movie Sucker Punch. She absolutely inspires me. She is a self-sacrificing, caring girl with the courage of a warrior, despite her brutal past. Still, her strong will to live is overshadowed by the love that she has for her friends. Oh, and she clearly has an amazing imagination.

Baby Doll almost gives up near the end, fearing that her plan to escape their hell-hole of a living arrangement might get her friends killed. She isn’t entirely sure of herself or her plan, which most of us can relate to. But her friends, influenced by her actions, pick her up and they continue on. Until Baby Doll has to make the biggest choice of all.

Sucker Punch is full of crazy cool action scenes, but the underlying story is very dark and sad. Still, whenever I watch it, Baby Doll gives me a fresh outlook on life.

15 thoughts on “Character Spotlight – Baby Doll

  1. Hi Sara, I have never seen the movie, but I hear the conviction in your voice, and it has aroused my curiosity. I am always much more intrigued by character than plot, although I believe they are both key. Now I am going to have to see Sucker Punch!

    1. I love this movie. I am an action film watcher at heart, but what I really love is the underlying story of Baby Doll’s tragic life and her ability to stay so brave. Let me know what you think of it when you get a chance to watch it.

  2. Hi Sara~Lovely name by the way. I didn’t see an “About” page on your blog so I am going to say hello here. Thanks for stopping by Corey’s blog and for your kind comment on my guest post. I see we are fellow writers. How cool it that? It wasn’t this post of your, but I agree on another one I spotted. Book synopses are a bear!

  3. Never seen Sucker Punch. I’ll have to add that to my list of movies to watch. For me, I think my inspirational characters come from any Cohen brother movie. Those guys have a real good grasp on creating some in-depth interesting people for their stories.

Leave a Reply

