Your Summer Writing Goals

Right now I am working on the edit of my second novel done by my (very affordable – yay!) editor. After that I am having a good writing friend do a beta read for good measure. I plan to have it published in early-mid June. The title is called Followed.

After that, it is on to editing and re-working the third novel (Currently named Ice), which I hope to have out in November since it has a wintery theme.

I am curious to know about all of your writing (or publishing) goals for the summer. Do share!

Before ending this post, I thought it would be fun to share some neat writing quotes for inspiration and smiles:

“Writing is a socially acceptable form of schitzophrenia.” – E.L. Doctorow

“I try to create sympathy for my characters, then turn the monsters loose.” – Stephen King

“A good novel tells us the truth about its hero, but a bad novel tells us the truth about its author.” – G.K. Chesterton

“A writer never has a vacation. For a writer, life consists either of writing or thinking about writing.” – Eugene Ionesco

“Planning to write is not writing. Outlining, researching, talking to people about what you’re doing, none of that is writing. Writing is writing.”  – E.L. Doctorow

Happy writing!

22 thoughts on “Your Summer Writing Goals

  1. Great quotes! And congrats on your upcoming publication. Please keep me posted so I can announce it on my blog!

    My summer goal is to keep plugging away at my revision. I’d be satisfied if I can get through the first third of my book, moving my protagonist from his village in France to New York City.

    1. Thanks Laura I will let you know in advance before I publish. 😀

      All the best on your novel revisions. I like the idea of a character moving from France to New York. Sounds interesting.

      1. In my outline, the France part is only a quarter of the book, but in my first draft, that part took up 150 pages or so. Oops! I need to decide what’s important and then get him on that ship to America.

        I’m looking forward to hearing your good news!

  2. Congratulations on the success of all your novels 😀

    I’m hoping to finish one novel by June, and edit and revise right through till September. Alongside that, I really hope to take poetry up as a more serious hobby, like writing novels is. I love it a lot, but still feel like a hopeless rookie, but practising is the only way to solve that, so I look forward to some free time to pursue it 🙂 Nice q, and brilliant quote, I love the first a lot, but the last one just made me nod and nod! Thanks for sharing.

    1. My novel-writing mentor has gotten into poetry over the past few years, and I think practicing poetry really enriches the way one looks at language. What a wonderful goal!

      1. Thanks! That’s extremely true, and as I think my biggest flaw in my stories, or at least what I struggle with most is description, poetry will also be a great help to my novel writing too. I’ve never thought about it that way, thanks 🙂

  3. Congratulations on all your upcoming work. It must feel amazing. Love the quotes. Thank you for sharing. I am currently revising the first book in my trilogy – again. It’s such a slow process with the family. I’m anxious to move past it and start editing the second book. None of it ever moves fast enough for me. I keep reminding myself – slow and steady.

  4. “Planning to write is not writing. Outlining, researching, talking to people about what you’re doing, none of that is writing. Writing is writing.” – E.L. Doctorow

    So, technically I’m not really writing right now…how depressing! I fear I’ve known this deep down though which is why I need to start writing soon! Love the quotes and you’ve been so busy! This summer I need to carve out time daily just to write and I’d love to get my whole novel out to my editors by the end of the summer.

    1. That is a great goal to have your novel out to editors by summer’s end. You can do it! And not to worry about research and outlining – they are vital for historical fiction/fantasy which you write very well. 🙂

  5. Nice quotes Sara, and good luck hon! 🙂

    Welllllllll…..lol, I’m hoping to have my 1st Novel, finished, edited, ready to go, by November, preferably September, so that I can throw myself into Nano, writing the 3rd Novel lol

    We’ll see 😉 I’m doing an online course in June, attending a writing summer school in July, and another one in August lol.

    Xx

  6. Thanks for the well wishes.

    That is a great goal to have your novel finished by November. Maybe when nano comes along, it will be the perfect break from your work, taking a month to write something new and then view it with fresh eyes. I am excited for Nano!

Leave a Reply

