Second Novel (An Update)

I wanted to publish Followed, my second novel, in the worst way by the end of August. I had the cover designed in February! Then, I realized it was just silly to rush a book launch for a book that just isn’t quite ready.  Slow and steady is the way to go when you are an indie publisher.

I think it is well worth the wait to make sure that a novel has been thoroughly read by 2-3 beta readers before sending it off for that final edit. My peer editor has promised to have Followed read and commented on by the end of August, so I am predicting Followed’s book launch for early October to be on the safe side. 🙂 I am so excited!

In the meantime, I’ve been dabbling in a few of my other writings – my third and fourth novels as well as another short story I’ve started on. It can be hard for me to focus on one project at a time sometimes. It’s fun to go back and forth.

Stay tuned for the cover reveal later this week. 😀

On the topic of current projects, where are all of you at right now in your writing endeavors? Do tell, fellow bloggers.

18 thoughts on “Second Novel (An Update)

  1. *Squee* I love cover reveals! I think October is a fantastic launch month. You not only get a thriller out before Halloween but just in time for the holiday surge. I envy being able to switch between projects. I can’t WAIT until my first draft of the third book is done but it’s running into the 150,000 word count zone :0 You know what that means…slash…slash…slash 🙂

    I have a historical fiction novel I’m just dying to start!

    1. lol slash, slash. I cannot wait to read the final product of your third book. So exciting! 🙂 Ooh I am glad that you are doing another historical fiction novel – you are so good at writing in the genre.

      Thank you so much for reminding me about Halloween! Oooh there are so many ways I could market a scary novel in October. :O

  2. The smartest thing any writer can do is to wait until the book is absolutely ready to be published — and then maybe wait just a little bit longer to make sure it really is ready. 🙂 I’ve been reading a lot of manuscripts and self-published books that needed more revising to really be ready for showtime, but everyone is in such a hurry and they think it doesn’t matter if they skip a few steps or if don’t take the time to revise properly… but as you know, all of those steps really do matter! 🙂

  3. I am definitely not the right person to ask about being patient! I admire your decision – I agree that you want to take your time to get all that input from your beta readers and then take your time in edits. I’m sure it’ll be great! I have gone back over my first MS so many times, you’d think it would be ready to roll any day now. But it will part of a trilogy and I feel like I need to have a better handle on how the entire thing wraps up before I’m really “done” with the first one. So frustrating!

    1. I can totally relate to the frustration. I used to think once a first draft was done, it would maybe take a few edits and then it would be good to go. So not true! :O

      That is exciting that you are working on a triolgy. 🙂

  4. Well done! Definitely worth the wait to get it just right.
    I brought out a paperback of my first novel in April, and put a sneak peak of the new one at the end – you know, first chapter, and ‘Kikimora will be released Summer 2012’.
    Well… summer’s about gone, and I’m still mired in the second draft – never mind beta readers and editors.
    I’m thinking I’ll be lucky to get it out this year now. But c’est la vie. Wouldn’t occur to me to try and rush it. Speed really isn’t the point of it all, is it?
    Best of luck with yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

