Fall Writing/Publishing Goals

I started making my new writing to-do list & then thought I might as well post it here.

1. Re-write portions of Followed. Edit. (OMG and to think I had planned to launch it less than a month from now? Oops.)

2. Send newest version of Followed to beta readers. Work on the final touches of the third book, Frozen, in the mean time. (Keeping in mind that there is no rush. There is no rush.)

3. Make necessary changes & then (finally!) send Followed to the editor. Edit & then send back for final changes.

4. Publish Followed.  🙂

5. Send Frozen to beta readers & get the cover designed. (Remembering not to post a launch date until the book is truly ready for the editor. Ha.)

My goal is to have all of this done before December. Hopefully with the spirit of NanoWriMo, this will be easily achieved. I think it can be.

What are some of your fall writing goals?

25 thoughts on “Fall Writing/Publishing Goals

  1. I need to make a list like this! Getting a book ready takes so much longer than you think! I’ll be lucky if I can get it together for the 2013 rush. But, like you, I won’t release it if it’s not ready. Best of luck!

    1. It really does take a lot of time. I’m hoping with a great deal of focus (Thanks in part to the writing room) I can get things done “in time”.

      I’m confident yours will be ready in time for the 2013 rush. 🙂

  2. It sounds like you will be on a very satisfying high when the year is done with everything you have accomplished 😀

  3. At this point, my goal is to get some writing out the door to people who might wish to read it. Funny how hard that first step is though.

    1. That’s cool! I had no idea where to look for beta readers at first – I found a lot of them on Goodreads. If you wanted someone to look at your writing, I’d be happy to help – I’m just not the most objective person because I’m afraid to sound mean. lol

      1. Well, possibly. I have a novel finished and in final review stage. I keep tinkering with the words though, and the pace. I may take you up on the offer though Sara, as you’ve been down the publishing/editing route, so that would be an interesting perspective and one I don’t really have.

      2. It’s good to take your time. My biggest issue is not wanting to sit down and fine tune everything, but it has to be done. Oh well, it’s all a learning process.

        Let me know if you would like me to give yours a read. 🙂

  4. Hopefully I’ll be doing NaNo this time around, but it depends on whether I get part one of the novel series finished so I can do part 2 in November. Along with that, just keep blogging. Like you though, I want to take my time to get it right.

  5. Good luck meeting your goals! I am querying right now, and I know that everyone says that while you query, you should be working on a new project. But it is hard to wrench myself from that project! Will have to be more disciplined . . . and patient about hearing back from agents.

Leave a Reply

