Word slashing, re-writing, and NaNo

So, two weeks after slashing 18,000 words (Aah!) from Followed, I have written 18,000 more. I have to say that it’s the best thing I could have done for the story. I am still not finished with adding to it, so it will be a much longer story that I had anticipated (Well over 60,000 words!). The junk is gone and in its wake is a fresh, adrenaline-laced plot (I hope).

I had become a little grumpy with November around the corner, wondering if I could take part in NaNoWriMo with Followed needing so much attention, but then my fellow blogger, Vikki, reminded me that I can still edit while participating in NaNo. πŸ™‚ So, I will be taking part!

It is only Oct. 11 and I have a feeling that, at this rate, the writings will be completed well before November and I will be down to just editing. (Just editing? Is there such a thing?) Hmmm.

November may just be a good time to set this novel down and view it with fresh eyes come December, but knowing me, I may still want to pick at it during November.

I am curious – are any of you taking part in NaNoWriMo? Do you have an idea of what novel you are going to write? Do tell. πŸ™‚

34 thoughts on “Word slashing, re-writing, and NaNo

  1. I wasn’t sure if i was going to do it either. I’ve got a few projects on at the moment and I’m much further along as a writer than I was the last few years. I was a bit worried that NaNoWriMo would be a distraction. In the end I decided the good it would do be would outweigh any little delays it caused.

    1. That’s great you’re going to do it. I think a whole month devoted to writing 50,000 plus words can be applied to even a current work in progress if need be. All the best!

      1. Thanks. Unfortunately all my current in-progress bits and pieces are short stories so I’ll be starting from scratch. Still, I have an idea I like so I can’t complain. Best of luck to you too.

  2. Hi, Sara. My suggestion would be to set aside any thoughts of editing “Followed” while writing for NaNoWriMo. “Followed” can only benefit from a month’s peace and quiet. Getting away from a project always gives you some distance from which to gain a bit of perspective on your work. Good luck with that 50,000 NaNoWriMo! I’ve never done and and never will; guess I just hate any sort of strictures on what I write… πŸ˜‰

    1. Thanks for the suggestion, Gary. True, if I want to get it right, I really do need to give it a rest for a month. So, you’re very right.

      As for NaNo, never say never. πŸ™‚ It didn’t didn’t interest me until this year.

  3. I agree with Gary. It’s amazing how much clearer you see the errors in your work if you’ve let it grow cold, especially a month cold. That’s what I’m planning on doing with my current WIP. In fact, it’s more or less already in cold storage.

  4. 18,000 words slashed! Good for you! I can’t believe you’ve already added it all back. That is such a hard thing to do and major kudos to you that you’ve done it.

    I’ve never done NANO, but I’ve always wanted to. I’ll be lucky if I can get my third book in publishing shape by January. It seems I’m always trying to get a book released by the holiday gift-card surge. I wish it took place in the doldrums in March 😦

    Have fun though!

    1. Yeah it’s been power-writing for me these days lol. I guess that Julia, Gabriel, Adeline, and Caleb were determined to be portrayed a different way. πŸ™‚

      Aw, but it’s good you are taking your time to breathe. I am learning more and more to just slow down – there is no rush. As much as I wanted to publish three books in one year. That will be my goal next year. hehe.

      Perhaps next year you could do Nano. The main thing is, you can get more of your third book done during November. πŸ™‚ Happy writing!

  5. Well done. Hate editing and am impressed that you can do so much so fast.
    I’m still hoping to do NaNo but can’t get past next week when I have an exhibition. Head tied and fried at the moment.
    So if I do it, I will probably be winging it….. though not totally. There’s a bit of stuff in a file and a bit of stuff in a notebook. Usual really. Almost a pantster, but not quite!

  6. 18,000 words is certainly nothing to sneeze at. Taking it out must have been difficult. Way to go for just having the guts to tear it out and put something even better in!

    Good luck with NaNo. Maybe sometime I’ll do it. Right now, its just not my style.

  7. I’m in this year! (again πŸ˜‰ )
    I’m at a good place to pause in my revision, so I’m going to let it rest for a month while I work on another WIP that I started in June but haven’t had the time to write much on. I know, it’s bending the rules as you’re supposed to start fresh, but I have too much unrevised first draft already. I need to finish stuff!

    Good luck with your NaNo, and congrats on re-writing progress!

      1. I don’t think I have the physical time, really to write that many words in a month. Anyway, still might take you up on your offer of reading through something longer, though you’ll have to explain the etiquette and process to me, and of course you’ll have to tell me if there’s anything you’d like reviewed or the like, I am ever obliging.

  8. @ Trent (It wouldn’t let me reply to your second comment). Sure, when you are ready, please let me know and I will give it a read. I’ll use track changes to post comments or make any corrections I’ll see and then send it back for you to review.. If you had time, it would be sweet if you could look over my second book before I send it to an editor. Thank you. πŸ™‚

  9. Yes –I’m going to do it. I’ve never participated before so this will be my first time. Unfortunately, I have no idea what I’m going to write about yet. Aaaaahhhh! I need to start brainstorming -only a few weeks to go…

      1. Thank you, Sara. I have my fingers crossed for you too. But it sounds like you have enough drive and determination to get there on your own! You set a good example for us all.

Leave a Reply

