Setting “Followed” Aside

The creative writing process can change so quickly. Four months ago, I thought that I was ready to publish my second novel, Followed, but after some very helpful beta readers, I realized that it wasn’t ready at all. I made so many changes from then until early December and then got wary of the whole thing. So, Followed has gone from almost published to sitting in my file folder.

I just need a break from it all. The underlying premise is good, but I need some more distance to figure out what I really want to do with it.

On the bright side? My third novel, Frozen, was also nearly completed around the time that I was editing Followed, so that is my “next big thing”. It is a novella, but my passion and drive for this story is immense, even from the beginning. More on it later! 🙂

I hope all of you have a wonderful new year! Here’s to many inspirations and completed stories!

13 thoughts on “Setting “Followed” Aside

  1. Hi Sara,
    Sometimes it really helps to set a manuscript aside and approach it with fresh eyes after a bit of time goes by. I wish great success in your writing and in your life. Happy New Year!

  2. Followed has SO much promise! I was so excited to see what you’ve done with it, but you must feel completely sure of it before you publish. It’s crazy how much clarity a few months can bring. I can’t wait to read your novella though! Love the title!

  3. I agree that it’s hard to put it away for a while but sometimes that is the best thing to do. I bet when you go back to it, you will see ways to improve it. Good luck and Happy New Year.

  4. Happy New Year, Sara!
    Sometimes you just have to get away from a manuscript for a while and let it stew in the back of your mind. I have found that all too often my preconceptions of what will happen in a novel are the source of the problems I see in the MS. But that can be a very good thing, because it means that you have created a story that will tell itself, if you let it…

  5. Sara

    I’m not sure if you recall but you were one of my few blog followers that commented on my WIP “The Doomsday Door”. It has a really neat cover and blurb and so far they’re the only things I’m happy with. I completed my draft earlier this year and very quickly realized that it was riddled with about a dozen 12 guage slug sized plot, character and sci-fi/technical holes. But, it was my big 2012 resolution to be my self-pub debut and that I would use it to finally “hit the button” and get started. After wreslting with the giant collection of awful drafted chapters that it became I’ve decided to park it for awhile.

    As you can probably imagine, 12pm will come and go tonight and that goal won’t be met. I’ve put it aside and have been working on a shorter and much less complex novel to come out first. maybe DD will get done next after this break, Maybe it will sit for a very long time, I don’t know yet. I’m afraid that it may be yet another story of mine, like everything else I’ve started in the last 20 years, that got away from me by mutating into something too big, too complex and just too plain “hot and messy” for public consumption.

    My point is that it happens. stories sometimes need to sit and ferment (or fester) before we know what to do with them or before we’re ready and able to be the writer needed to finish it…or to just sit and rot. Sometimes for good reason.

    Maybe treat it like a breakup? If you move on and never look back then maybe there was nothing there to begin with. But If it haunts your dreams, both day and night, then maybe there’s something very special and important there after all.

    Just some thoughts. Best of luck.

  6. You’ve made a wise decision, Sara. Sometimes we all need breaks to get back into the flow. One of my books was going to be centered around one character. I thought I was finished, but my beta readers had a lot of input. I realized the plot did not work. After taking some time off (well, from that book – I worked on another), the story came to me. The main character become less important and other aspects of the story greatly improved. That version is in my editor’s hands now. My original goal had been to publish in early fall. Now it won’t be published until February or March, but it will be a much better product. Give yourself a break and be flexible about your goals. I’m sure you will turn out a great novel.

    Happy New Year!
    Richard

  7. Best of luck, Sara! The same thing happened to me with my WIP. I set it aside for a month and a half to focus on NaNoWriMo and when I came back I found I had fresh eyes to view it with. I hope the same thing happens for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

