Fall Writing Goals

I’ve been typing away at several different works in progress over the summer and I realized that I really need to set some definite goals. The worst thing is, I haven’t even begun writing my sequel to Followed yet! But I have two other books nearly finished, plus a second short story that is nearly ready to go.

You can tell that I am a panster to the core, eh?

So, this is what I hope to achieve before the snow falls. (I’m in Alberta, so this might occur in mid-October).

Start writing the sequel to Followed (I have the ideas down, now I just need to bring them into existence).

Finish my novella, Frozen

Publish my short story, Eve and Adam

There! It feels much more manageable seeing it typed out so simply. I have a lot of other works in progress but I think that I really need to buckle down and focus on these three stories.

So, what are your writing goals for the fall? Any publishing plans on the horizon? New works being started? Perhaps editing is your main focus? Do tell. πŸ™‚

Β 

16 thoughts on “Fall Writing Goals

  1. Good idea. Make a list.

    I have too many projects but too little time to do them all. I know I have to pace myself and pick one and focus, but it’s hard. So far I’ve got to finish editing my second novel, then finish four children’s books that I’ve already started. Problem is I have two other stories that I really want to write…like now. Hmmm. I really need to pick one and focus. Yikes.

    1. Yeah a list seems to pull everything together and you can better figure out what the top 2 or 3 priorities are. πŸ™‚ Oh, isn’t it hard to focus on just one or two things when you have other stories you are just as passionate about finishing? So many ideas, so little time.

  2. I’ve been restructuring my WIP this summer based on some initial feedback. Now that that is done, i have a much better idea as to where the story will head and I can concentrate on just writing. The plan is to have the first draft complete by Thanksgiving.

  3. It’s always a good idea to set some definitive goals. I’m trying to focus on the last book of my series. I would like to finish 2/3rds of the rough draft this fall. That’s probably all I can attempt with the new baby coming soon. I would love to have the first draft finished by next spring so that I can get it out sometime in 2014.

    1. I am so looking forward to reading your last book in the series. πŸ™‚ Slow and steady is sometimes just as good when it comes to writing. I am sure you will be able to have it out by 2014. Hope you are feeling better! πŸ™‚

  4. I love reading other people’s goals, inspires me to make a move on mine! Setting dates really help. I hope to get this revision done by the end of October (when the sun shines and heat waves begin to appear haha). PLus, I really, REALLy want to work on something new for NaNo.

Leave a Reply

