My Current Book in Progress

My Current Book in Progress

(Credit: Journey’s End By Jay Epperson)

Well, it’s the last day of October. I won’t be participating in NaNoWriMo, but what I will do is focus on my current work in progress. It is a fantasy tale centered around four characters that are based on my grandparents. Each one of them had at least one amazing story to tell about their childhood, teen years, and young adult life. It’s a coming-of-age story, with a lot of journeys, wars, adventures, and, of course, hardships. I plan to break the book down into three parts. With it already being 55 pages long and I’m still writing Part One, I have a feeling that it might be novel length upon completion.

In a way of celebrating Halloween, I am going to challenge myself to write something sinister or scary in the next scene. It is a dark story to begin with, but I am excited to see where this is going to go, and how many pages I can write.

To give you an idea of my newest story’s feel, here is a sample of the book’s opening, based on the story of my Grandpa Kjeldsen. He would have starved to death had the Danish army not taken him in. He was only fourteen years old at the time, and he soon became part of the force who helped the Jews escape to safety.

In a twist of fate, he survived, and I am now here blogging about a story written in his honour. Kind of awesome.

The Excerpt:

Three squawking vultures landed on the dirt street near a shivering boy. He was barely aware of their presence as he stared at the last morsel of bread encased in his dirty grip. Food that was only two days old was worth savoring.
The elderly farmer that the boy referred to as “apple man” pushed his cart up the road’s incline. Its squeaky tires seemed to bother the scavenger birds so much that they took flight.
“Best get inside, lad!” called apple man.
The boy shrugged and took a small bite out of his bread, too proud to admit that he had nowhere else to go. People that passed by him on a daily basis assumed that he was like the rest of the street urchins sent by their mothers to go beg, but he had no mother. He had no one but himself.
Apple man paused for a moment.
“The army will be passing through at any moment, boy.”
“Let their horses trample me, then.”
“What was that?”
The boy did not repeat his dire statement.
The elderly man shrugged and was back on his way home.
A low rumble vibrated the ground so much that the stones at the boy’s feet shook. He glared at the yellow-eyed birds sitting on the roof of the tavern across the road, as he chewed the last piece of his supper.
“Not today, ugly scavengers!” he called.

And now, it’s time to write something scary. 🙂

What are all of you working on right now? Are you taking part in NaNo?

11 thoughts on “My Current Book in Progress

  1. I’ll be participating in my first Nano which starts in a few hours. I’m so excited. I working one of my favorite ideas.

    You’re WIP sounds so interesting! I love the use of your family’s history.

      1. It’s about a girl and a guy who both lost their fathers suddenly. They meet on a Scottish island and learn how to cope from each other.

  2. Wow… I was really drawn into that. I love the concept of writing your grandparents story. I like it.. a lot. And that particular scene was very gripping and kind of stressed me out because I want to hide him in the apple man’s cart.

    Only working on the blog as of now– hoping to write about my work (at a psych hospital) soon but might not really get it scheduled in life until just after the New Year. C’est la vie. I’ll live vicariously through you until then 😀

    1. Thank you so much for saying that. More than anything, I want my writing to draw people in. I sort of stresses me out too thinking about it… if he had gone another week without eating in the middle of the winter… I wouldn’t be here. OMG. :O

      That’s so awesome you are going to write about your work in the psych hospital. I am actually jealous of your job, no joke! I look forward to reading what you write one day, and in the mean time, your blog is awesome! I love your writing style.

      1. Thanks Sara! And yeah– I’ll bet that is definitely trippy to think about, knowing his story so well… My grandfather was overseas during the Korean War but obviously wasn’t in actual combat… pretty intense stuff to trace back into your history.

Leave a Reply

