Writing In Banff And Soon, In The Wilderness of B.C.

1377509_821152933687_1232804494_n
(Source: Me)

My last few days in this thriving little mountain city have been very productive for my writing. I finished editing/adding to one of my short stories I started just over one year ago. I finally went to that little café and the large windows, quaint atmosphere, and mellow customers turned out to be the perfect setting. If only I had discovered it months ago, but alas, there’s a time and place for nearly everything.

Tonight, I am leaving the place I have called home for nearly one year, and some good people, to take a long bus ride to northern B.C. It will be my first time ever in the province, and though I have longed to see the Pacific Ocean for quite some time, I do look forward to some natural solitude and a change of pace at the wilderness lodge I will be working at for two and a half months. I plan to do a lot of writing on my off time, along with some hiking and exploring of course. I think it will be great, and hopefully it will feel like a retreat.

Banff, Alberta has been an excellent place for inspiration as well, but I suppose it’s correct to say that I have outgrown it. I’ll never forget how much I loved it when I first started living here, though, the mountains surrounding a fun little town where I have met so many interesting people. It’s hard to move on in some ways, I’ll be honest.

1743580_857628221917_32474450_n
(Source: Me)

I am going to miss Banff, but the change of location will be good for me and my writing, I think. More travel is always exciting, and I’m looking forward to the scenic view and chance to write a lot on the day-long bus ride.

12 thoughts on “Writing In Banff And Soon, In The Wilderness of B.C.

  1. HI Sara,
    I was in Banff a couple years ago, and it’s a pretty little town. You are living my writer’s dream–off into the wilderness to focus on writing! Best of luck!

    1. Yes, it is just lovely! I love it and will have to visit it again after I go away. Thanks, I do hope to get so much writing done. I hope that you’ll be able to go and do some wilderness writing as well!

      1. I wouldn’t say no to a little thatched cottage in England or a villa in Tuscany either! I think the main thing is to get away from your every day obligations that tug at you from all directions. Best of luck, Sara!

    1. Aw! Well, I am sure that one day soon you could book a wee writing retreat for yourself. ^^ Though you have been quite productive, regardless. 🙂 Thanks for the well wishes. It’s scary and exciting all at once.

  2. It’s always hard to make a big change like that… but it’s also exciting. I hope this amps up your inspiration and that you get a shiz ton of writing done.

    1. Thank you. It was not entirely stress-free since this is a work all summer type of gig to make good money. But I do like change and travel, so I’m already settled in and planning my next big trip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

