The Dreamer’s Dreamworld

Most very young children are quite imaginative, but dreamers never give up their strong desire to imagine. When I was around three years old, I would swing on the swings and imagine that I was somewhere else, talking with people who did not exist. To this day, I still gravitate to a swing set so that I can pass half an hour or so immersed in my dreamworld while my body soars.

A dreamer’s inner world is very intense; it is such a key part of who we are. In the same way that many people crave conversation with their friends, family, and coworkers, a dreamer craves the freedom and the solitude to escape into the most creative depths of their mind.

In elementary school, I found it very difficult to pay attention in class, not because I had a bad attitude or because I was bored, but because of my highly imaginative mind that was difficult to control. I was often caught by my teachers daydreaming; my grades suffered due to my inability to focus and pay attention. They all assumed that it was an auditory problem and then they actually took measures to help “correct” it.

Traditional education can be a nightmare for dreamers, but somehow, most of us survive it and can end up doing well in the later years of school. In high school, we can begin to have some control over the courses that we learn about. We can improve our grades with a little bit more maturity and then focus on subjects that we actually care about.

I do not tell very many people about the fact that I have worlds that I escape to, even now. Especially now. I could never think of my fantasy prone personality as a curse or as some sort of defect. Sure, I may have a short attention span and I may not be aware of everything that goes on around me, but who would ever trade in their gift of an extraordinary imagination for the sake of being closer to normal?

Some say that there is no such thing as normal, but dreamers make the general population seem normal in comparison. I can call customers repeatedly at my day job while being somewhere else entirely. I can go for a walk, listen to music, and swing on the sings to escape from the physical world. I can think up an entire story in my head before I even have to write it down, and I can keep it stored there.

Perhaps our brain chemistry is stormy, and maybe our introverted nature gives others the impression that we have less “personality”, but if someone gets to know us, they will discover a true character hiding beneath those layers. And so this is why those who are our friends are so very special to us, because they are the ones who patiently took the time to get to know us, who could see something special there beyond our aloof, quiet exterior.

And then there are the dreamer’s imaginary friends. I have friends in other worlds. I am not going to lie and say this is solely for the purpose of my books. These friends are not characters in my stories; they are people who exist for the purpose of being with me in these alternate worlds. I realize that there is probably a type of therapy to “heal” this sort of behaviour, but I see no harm in this.

How is escaping to another reality created by your mind any worse than someone who sits in front of their TV while eating popcorn for three hours out of every evening? At least I am exercising while I live out some of my dreams in my dream world.

A dreamer living in this world can sometimes feel broken and alien when speaking with those who think on completely different paths. Even other creative writers sometimes fail to relate to a dreamer-writer. A dreamer’s writing style strives to dig into the darkest and most beautiful depths of the human condition; they hope to tell tales of redemption and healing after exposing brutal reality in their writing. We write for the people, not for the plot or for the shock value.

To dream is to live. Dream on, day dreamer.

5 thoughts on “The Dreamer’s Dreamworld

  1. I was scrolling to find where I left off on the Suicides story and saw this and had to stop. You aptly described my entire life as well. I read this part, “A dreamer’s writing style strives to dig into the darkest and most beautiful depths of the human condition; they hope to tell tales of redemption and healing after exposing brutal reality in their writing.” This is precisely what I attempted to do in my three main stories on my blog. I seldom meet other dreamers and when I do, I usually form lasting friendships as we speak the same language and understand each other. I agree with you. While it does keep others at a distance, it has been a gift of vision. I often see my story and type it as it unfolds totally unaware of keys and screens. Of course, editing can be a challenge after I’m done. 🙂 This was such a reward to read. I suspected other dreamers existed and it was a thrill to read that my own experience wasn’t unique but part of the dreamer’s experience. Dream on, Sara! And, thank you for sharing these thoughts.

    1. I suspected you might be a dreamer based on your writing style. 🙂 I’m happy you could relate to my post about dreamers. We are so rare, it’s true, and maybe our personalities clash a little too much with the more general mindset people have. But I think we’re lucky at the end of the day. Maybe at the expense of a rich social life, we get a rich inner life that helps us write. In a sense, we live multiple lives.

      1. I couldn’t agree more. It’s very nice to read someone that gets it, lives it, and expresses it so well as you have. It gives your writing a very rich layers of meaning in the interaction of your characters. They have depth and it’s easy to feel they are real in the role they play.

Leave a Reply

