Book Blog Tours

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is time for me to invest in a book blog tour or two in order to get some more word out there about my ebooks. I’ve done some research on the best blog tours for your buck and so on and thought I’d share itย with you in case you’re also interested in blog tours.

1.Blog Tours Are Pricey-ish

I’m an indie author still waiting to get my first cheque from Amazon, so the idea of paying someone $80 to $150 for a week’s worth of blog tours and reviews is steep.

On the other hand, sometimes an up front investment in marketing can be just the thing to boost book sales and move your ranking on Amazon to a better position. I get it.

I am not really a cheapskate, but the angsty artist chick inside of me bristled at the idea ofย paying so much for a service that claims to help indie writers. That said, it’s not a writer’s world and so it is what it is.

2. Most blog tours focus in YA and romance genres

My two most recent books are neither romance nor young adult, so it’s a little tougher to find a blog tour with a more alternative readership. The ones that specialize in multiple genres require more of an investment.

3. Many blog tours offer more than just blog tours

If you’re really strapped for cash, some blog tour providers offer book cover reveals and book blitzes for a fraction of the cost. I think it’s a smart idea for both parties. Some will even provide you with book reviewers if you can give them free copies to read.

I’ll likely invest in a book reveal blitz for my next publication. ๐Ÿ™‚

4. Blog tours save you a lot of time

It does induce a sigh of relief at the idea of someone taking care of my book marketing for a week or two. Despite the surprisingly high cost (In my opinion), I can’t deny that I want the opportunity to be interviewed about my book, to have other readers who have never heard of my blog read an excerpt about my book, etc.

Writers want to write first and foremost. The idea of someone taking care of business is attractive.

5. Blog tour operators like Paypal

I don’t use Paypal for my own reasons. I had a blogger reply to me with an affordable book marketing option, and without asking, she said that once she received my payment through Paypal, that would be my consent for her to run my blog tour.

It was tough for me to decline, but I find it unprofessional to not offer direct email money transfer. If someone is willing to pay for a service, they should be given more than one option.

***

That’s my take on the blog tour industry to date. I’ll keep on searching, and take my time. I’m not letting myself become jaded, and at the end of the day, I’ll probably have to splurge on the service that will give me the best results.

I’ll let you all know when my blog tour runs! ๐Ÿ™‚

***

Writers, what has your experience been with blog tours? ย Do you have a blog tour service that you can recommend? Do you know of any blog tours that do not require Paypal payments?ย 

Cheers!ย 

(Image Taken From http://www.everystockphoto.com. Titled as “Malecรƒยณn”)

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Book Blog Tours

  1. This is a very helpful post for many writers out there. I for one never did a blog tour, but I have friends who did and have a lot of experience in book marketing. Blog tours are great, but one thing you must watch out for – ask what blogs will feature you and check what they’ve done before; you don’t want them writing badly-spelled reviews, neglect to add a link to your book on amazon, and be one of the 100 books they feature a week because that will remain fruitless. In your place I’d ask what blogs would feauture me so that I can check them out. :*

    1. That’s good to know that some of your friends have tried blog tours with some success. Thank you very much for the pointers, too! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s definitely a good idea to know which blogs the book tour would be featured on.
      Thanks for stopping by! ๐Ÿ˜€

      1. That’s very good information to know about book tours, Sara and Ana. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Sara, you mentioned you’re waiting to still get your first cheque from Amazon. How long has it been since you first published with them?

        A writer friend of mine in Greece is putting the final format on my manuscript for publication.

        I’m still debating whether to use Amazon or some other company for publication.

        The major problem I have with Amazon is every time I try to sign up for their book publishing program, they keep asking me for my U.S. Social Insurance No. and my IRS tax no.

        Being a Canadian and not an American citizen, I don’t have those:

        I’ve tried to sign up through the Canadian Amazon.ca but can’t seem to find any links to book publishing through them.

        Where did you go to sign up to get your books published through Amazon and they ask you questions meant for a Canadian and not a U.S. citizen?

        Perhaps you could give me the link for that?

      2. Hey, Dracul! ๐Ÿ™‚
        I’ve made about $22 from my print books that I sold back in 2012 (They are now out of print), but Amazon won’t pay you for print books until you sell $100 worth which is fair. I’ve been with Amazon since 2012, and I’ve published and taken down a few ebooks and print books. It’s said that you usually need about 10 titles out before you start to see regular payments, but some authors I know have made back what they spent on editors from having just one or two novels on Amazon. I think my issue is mainly that I’ve published novellas and short stories, and a novel will probably be the one to start getting me more sales. ๐Ÿ™‚
        I do want to get an agent and go the traditional publishing route for my novel, though.
        It’s awesome that your manuscript is almost ready for publication. ๐Ÿ™‚ Those are good questions about the tax info for Amazon. I figured out that you don’t need to enter that info as a Canadian and you’re just paid by cheque from Amazon. I think there’s still a way to get direct deposit if you’re a Canadian, but I don’t want to bother figuring it out unless I start to get monthly payments.
        I think it’s a great idea, Dracul, that you’re considering other options besides Amazon. But it’s definitely very user friendly (Aside from the pesky IRS/Social Secruity numbers) and if you’ve got a full length book then you stand a good chance self publishing, especially if your blog has a good readership. I hope this made sense and answers your question. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Very good information Sara! I always appreciate how you share what you’ve learned in your book publishing along the way. I’ve had many conversations on the marketing aspect of late. I’ve put together three manuscripts for processing to publish and will build a fourth, an anthology of short works. I hope to publish at least one this year and all four if I can. It is very helpful to have experienced writers, like yourself, help all of us noobs and very gracious of you as well. Many thanks and wish you all the luck and success for the future. ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. It’s my pleasure to share things with you guys. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s great that you’re at the point where you’re discussing marketing strategies for your upcoming releases. I hope very much to read one of yours this year. ๐Ÿ™‚ You must be pretty excited at the idea of self publishing. The great thing is that it’s pretty easy if you publish on Amazon. There’s also Smashwords which is a similar idea. ๐Ÿ™‚ I appreciate you saying that I’m experienced haha sometimes I don’t feel that I am, but I appreciate that you’re learning some things from me. ๐Ÿ˜€

      1. Yes it is exciting, like a long held dream coming true. You’ve been blazing trail for me all along and your tips have always been very helpful. I’m really working hard to hone my craft and also want to help others as well. It goes better when you have fellow writers helping out. People that understand that inner calling also understand how to relate to the challenges. When we can celebrate each other’s success, we all succeed.

      1. You are solid Gold, Sara! We’ll have our own mini blog tour and it won’t cost a dime ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

